Arizona leaders oppose nominating Tracy Stone-Manning to director of Bureau of Land Management

FILE - In this Dec. 3, 2020 file photo Freedom Caucus chairman Rep. Andy Biggs, R-Ariz., speaks on Capitol Hill in Washington. (AP Photo/Jacquelyn Martin,File)

Congressman Andy Biggs and Congresswoman Lauren Boebert wrote a letter to Senate leaders opposing the confirmation of National Wildlife Federation senior advisor Tracy Stone-Manning to serve as the director of the Bureau of Land Management (BLM). The letter was cosigned by seven additional House Members, according to a press release. Stone-Manning also worked as chief of staff for former Montana Gov. Steve Bullock, and as Director of Montana’s Department of Environmental Quality.

Biggs stated, “Another far-Left appointee is about to take over an agency that administers over a tenth of the territory of the United States. If Ms. Stone-Manning is confirmed, she will reimpose new regulations on the energy sector and may even move BLM’s headquarters back to D.C. She will allow BLM to fall under the sway of Washington bureaucrats. Her appointment will compromise our nation’s energy future. Surely our Senators will take the rational approach and reject Ms. Stone-Manning’s radical vision.”

Biggs stated on Twitter, “Yesterday, @RepBoebert and I led a letter to the Senate opposing the nomination of Tracy Stone-Manning as director of Bureau of Land Management. America needs someone who will secure a future for energy, not stifle it with regulations.”


Boebert commented, “I have serious concerns about this nomination and the partisan hacks filling senior positions within the Biden administration. Ms. Stone-Manning has an extreme record opposing issues that are important to the West and the people in my communities. Her opposition to the Bureau of Land Management Headquarters move as well responsible oil and gas development that creates good-paying jobs and has helped reduce carbon emissions significantly is of concern.”

Additional cosigners of the letter are Ken Buck (CO-04), Doug LaMalfa (CA-01), Paul Gosar (AZ-04), Scott Perry (PA-10), Debbie Lesko (AZ-08), Madison Cawthorn (NC-11), and Louie Gohmert (TX-01).