Paul Gosar cosponsors bill prohibiting vaccine passports

Image source: Paul Gosar's office

Paul Gosar helped co-sponsor a bill called the “No Taxpayer Funding for Vaccine Passports Act”. The bill was introduced by U.S. Representative Matt Rosendale from Montana.

Many states, including Florida, have banned the use of vaccine passports. However, other states like Hawaii have recently implemented vaccine passport programs. According to The Hill, Governor David Ige approved a “vaccine passport” program for inter-island travel. In March, New York was the first state to start a vaccine passport program. Florida Governor Ron Desantis issued an executive order banning the use of vaccine passports. 

“It’s completely unacceptable for either the government or the private sector to impose upon you the requirement that you show proof of vaccine to just simply be able to participate in normal society,” Desantis stated at a press conference Monday.

According to a press release from Rosendale, the bill would “would prohibit any federal funds from being used to implement, enforce, or assist in the establishment of a COVID–19 vaccine passport system.” It would also prohibit any COVID-19 relief bill funding from going to any state or locality that implements, enforces, or assists in the establishment of a COVID–19 vaccine passport system.

Gosar posted on Twitter, “Proud cosponsor of the “No Taxpayer Funding for Vaccine Passports Act.” No American should be subject to the question “Where are your papers?” I thank my friend from Montana for leading this effort.”

Rosendale posted on Twitter, “Vaccine passport systems are a gross violation of American rights and Montanans should not be subjected to the will of a bureaucrat in Washington, California or New York.”

Other co-sponsors of the legislation include Reps. Rick Crawford, Chip Roy, Yvette Herrell, Mary Miller, Jeff Duncan, Bob Good, Lance Gooden, Scott Perry, Ashley Hinson, Barry Moore, Ted Budd, Madison Cawthorn, Paul Gosar, Greg Steube, Marjorie Greene, Jody Hice, Bill Posey, Tom Tiffany, Nancy Mace, Ronny Jackson, Andrew Clyde, Doug LaMalfa, Lauren Boebert, and Dan Webster.

Earlier this month Arizona Rep. Andy Biggs also introduced a bill related to vaccine passports.

Biggs posted on Twitter, “Just introduced a bill prohibiting federal agencies from issuing vaccine passports or requiring proof of vaccination to access federal property/services. The government has no right to dictate our private healthcare choices.”